Skip to content

I love TV, maybe too much…

10.25.2009

Ok, I felt bad about only reposing Jezebel stuff, so here is a post that I wrote myself. I started writing it last week and finished it just now. I don’t find it all that interesting, but it’s a good catalog of the ongoings in my apartment at this time in my life. If my post is boring, here are some fun quotes I discovered while writing this. That Groucho Marx — I really love him.

*So, I’m going through a kinda weird time right now. Not bad, just different. A few weeks ago, I decided I was watching too much TV. I was just not happy with the amount of stuff I was watching, and most of it was junk, honestly. So, I just up and canceled my cable subscription, also canceling my internet in the process. (Also, I wasn’t thrilled with the extreme lack of service I was getting from my cable company.) I decided I would just get a digital converter, get wifi from some other source, and because I would miss some cable shows I love, I could just watch them online. Lovely.
*Well, I’ve been busy. Work has been busy and I’ve been busy on weekends, so I’ve not yet gone to get the digital converter or sign up for the new wifi. The public wifi has been good enough and I have my netflix, so it’s not like my apartment is devoid of entertainment sources.
*But, it is different. Without the divital converter, obviously, I don’t even have network TV, and the public wifi is ok, but it’s spotty and therefore, not great for watching streaming video. So, I’ve missed the entire season of Always Sunny so far (which is driving me a little crazy), I missed Jim and Pam’s wedding, I miss my daily dose of WGN morning news, to say nothing of the History Channel and HGTV that was just on, in the background, all the time.
*It has been an adjustment. But it’s not horrible. I’m actually doing things. I’m listening to my ever-growing, enormous music collection, I’m watching dvds that I bought and then never watched (I will only buy a dvd if I’m sure I will watch it, so not watching them is really stupid on my part), I’m making much better use of my Netflix membership and, probably most importantly, I’m finding time to be much more active than I was before.
*Also, I’m READING. Because of Paper Back Swap, my ginormous bookshelf is primarily filled with books I’ve yet to read, but I’m making my way through them so I can swap them again for new stuff. I LOVE THat! Plus, I renewed my subscriptions to Newsweek and Spin. It’s easy for me to toss my magazines aside and not read them, but when I open them, I quickly and easily remember why I love those two so much. It was just laziness that convinced me not to renew my subscriptions a couple of months ago.
*Now for a confession — the lack of television in my life has driven me to the radio. Specifically, I’m listening to public radio. THis is something new for me. Let me explain — I grew up in a home that featured a lot of music. I got to watch a ton of musical movies, listen to a massive rock music record collection whenever I wanted, and I spent a lot of time with my Aunt Pat, who introduced the world of opera to me. I cherish all of these things deeply. Also, my parents encouraged me to read a lot and to learn as much as possible. (Side note: my mother made it certain that TV was not a focus of our lives ever, so, yes, I realize I’m turning into her. But let’s go over that in another post.) Our educational sources, however, never included public radio.
*To be completely honest, I didn’t know anything about public radio until 5-6 years ago. I don’t even think I knew it existed. But in starting 826CHI, I got thrown into a group of some major intellectuals, and I learned about NPR really quickly. I started listening a bit, and realized it had a lot of good stuff (duh).
*So, what I’m realizing is that TV is not necessary to me, although I do miss it. I’m still having a hard time deciding whether I want a digital converter and wi-fi, or if I should just get cable and wi-fi from some other source. Or if I should just keep things as they are. Watching shows and movies online has gotten better, but it’s still hard to do without TV entirely. I don’t know. The big bonus is that I’m saving a lot of money right now, which is nice. I anticipate going back to TV someday, but I’m doing ok for now. Just don’t expect me to know a lot about what’s happening on any shows.
*Except for Parks and Recreation. THere are many reasons why this is a good show, but I’ve been watching it online for the last few weeks for one reason in particular — Louis CK has been guest starring on it. He’s pretty much my favorite entertainer right now and I can’t get enough. The fact that he is playing a cop in a small town in Indiana, well, I love it.

*So, I’m going through a kinda weird time right now. Not bad, just different. A few weeks ago, I decided I was watching too much TV. I was just not happy with the amount of stuff I was watching, and most of it was junk, honestly. So, I just up and canceled my cable subscription, also canceling my internet in the process. (Also, I wasn’t thrilled with the extreme lack of service I was getting from my cable company.) I decided I would just get a digital converter, get wifi from some other source, and because I would miss some cable shows I love, I could just watch them online. Lovely.

*Well, I’ve been busy. Work has been busy and I’ve been busy on weekends, so I’ve not yet gone to get the digital converter or sign up for the new wifi. The public wifi has been good enough and I have my netflix, so it’s not like my apartment is devoid of entertainment sources.

*But, it is different. Without the divital converter, obviously, I don’t even have network TV, and the public wifi is ok, but it’s spotty and therefore, not great for watching streaming video. So, I’ve missed the entire season of Always Sunny so far (which is driving me a little crazy), I missed Jim and Pam’s wedding, I miss my daily dose of WGN morning news, to say nothing of the History Channel and HGTV that was just on, in the background, all the time.

*It has been an adjustment. But it’s not horrible. I’m actually doing things. I’m listening to my ever-growing, enormous music collection, I’m watching dvds that I bought and then never watched (I will only buy a dvd if I’m sure I will watch it, so not watching them is really stupid on my part), I’m making much better use of my Netflix membership and, probably most importantly, I’m finding time to be much more active than I was before.

*Also, I’m READING. Because of Paper Back Swap, my ginormous bookshelf is primarily filled with books I’ve yet to read, but I’m making my way through them so I can swap them again for new stuff. I LOVE THat! Plus, I renewed my subscriptions to Newsweek and Spin. It’s easy for me to toss my magazines aside and not read them, but when I open them, I quickly and easily remember why I love those two so much. It was just laziness that convinced me not to renew my subscriptions a couple of months ago.

*Now for a confession — the lack of television in my life has driven me to the radio. Specifically, I’m listening to public radio. This is something new for me. Let me explain — I grew up in a home that featured a lot of music. I got to watch a ton of musical movies, listen to a massive rock music record collection whenever I wanted, and I spent a lot of time with my Aunt Pat, who introduced me to the world of opera. I cherish all of these things deeply. Also, my parents encouraged me to read a lot and to learn as much as possible. (Side note: my mother made it certain that TV was not a focus of our lives ever, so, yes, I realize I’m turning into her. But let’s go over that in another post.) Our educational sources, however, never included public radio.

*To be completely honest, I didn’t know anything about public radio until 5-6 years ago. I don’t even think I knew it existed. But in starting 826CHI, I got thrown into a group of some major intellectuals, and I learned about NPR really quickly. I started listening a bit, and realized it had a lot of good stuff (duh).

*So, what I’m realizing is that TV is not necessary to me, although I do miss it. I’m still having a hard time deciding whether I want a digital converter and wi-fi, or if I should just get cable and wi-fi from some other source. Or if I should just keep things as they are. Watching shows and movies online has gotten better, but it’s still hard to do without TV entirely. I don’t know. The big bonus is that I’m saving a lot of money right now, which is nice. I anticipate going back to TV someday, but I’m doing ok for now. Just don’t expect me to know a lot about what’s happening on any shows.

*Except for Parks and Recreation. There are many reasons why this is a good show, but I’ve been watching it online for the last few weeks for one reason in particular — Louis CK has been guest starring on it. He’s pretty much my favorite entertainer right now and I can’t get enough. The fact that he is playing a cop in a small town in Indiana, well, I love it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.25.2009 8:43 pm

    Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

    • staci permalink*
      10.25.2009 10:44 pm

      It’s the vigilance theme from wordpress

  2. Ken permalink
    10.26.2009 6:22 pm

    I ❤ getting to re-know Staci posts.

    swoon

    • staci permalink*
      10.26.2009 8:27 pm

      Yeah, aka, the ones where I blather on about completely unimportant bs. I feel like I’m not blathering as well as I used to. Not sure if I’m out of practice or I’m just uninterested in my own blathers. Something to ponder and then report on this blog via some sort of blather.

  3. 11.09.2009 11:34 am

    I really enjoyed your blog, Thanks.

  4. 03.05.2010 11:50 am

    I wrote a similar blog on this subject but you nailed it here.

Trackbacks

  1. New boyfriend! « bright green eyeliner

Leave a Reply

